How Much Time Does Illinois Law Permit to File A Personal Injury Claim ?

In Illinois many personal injury claims have a 2 year Statute of Limitations during which the claim must either be settled or a lawsuit filed.  However, there are many exceptions to the 2 year rule and if they apply to a particular fact pattern then the injured party may be barred from proceeding with a lawsuit seeking money damages for their personal injuries.  This means it is absolutely essential for an injured person to consult with a qualified Illinois attorney as soon as possible after being injured so that they preserve their legal rights to seek compensation for their injuries.